New Love – Fermented skincare

My love affair with fermented skincare started with IOPE Bio Essence. It was the first fermented product I put on my face (apart from the usual yogurt mask I used). It made my skin glow. Ofcourse my pocket did not glow along with it so I never repurchased it.

Homemade Fermented Rice Water:
I tried making my own fermented rice water and applying it to skin. That works really well too but did not see as drastic results as I’d hoped for. It seemed more of a pain to keep making rice water and waiting for it to ferment when I am trying not to eat as much rice (trying to reduce the carb intake here!). It was good for the hair though, my hair got really soft when I used it as a rinse after my usual shampoo conditioner.

Innisfree Soybean Energy Essence:
So I purchased the Innisfree Soybean Energy Essence. I’m working on the bottle now and almost finished with it. I can’t complain about it, but I don’t think it works the same way the Bio Essence did. It was more so moisturizing than ‘intensive conditioning’. May not repurchase.

Su:m37:
I then found out about Su:m37 from reading other blogs and watching skincare videos. I was intrigued that it used over 30 fermented ingredients (that HAS to be good right?). After much deliberation, research and obsessing, I went ahead and purchased a set from HonestSkin on Amazon for around $155. The set was to include the Su:m37 Secret Programming Essence, Repair Concentrate, Concentrated Cream and samples of the softner-emulsion-serum-eyecream in the same secret line along with a programming essence sheet mask.

I eagerly awaited the arrival. Once I got it, I was more befuddled than disappointed. I got a different set than what I ordered!


I instead got a full size Secret Repair Concentrate, the Concentrated Cream, Losec Therapy Samples, a sleeping mask tube and a losec therapy sheet mask. Now, I’m not complaining at all. I’m assuming this set is better than what I ordered. But I was disappointed that I didn’t get the Secret Programming Essence. A few emails fixed this problem and I am now awaiting a bottle of the Essence. It was no hassle at all. The seller seemed to be nice and well it was his mistake right?

Until then, I’ve been using this set along with some of my standard skincare and let me tell you skincare junkies this stuff is amazing. I won’t go into detailed reviews of each product since the purpose of this post is to talk about using fermented products on your skin. Requests for reviews are welcome though! I will be happy to post about it if you are curious.

The Secret Repair Concentrate and the Concentrated Cream are both amazing and I’m going to say the highlight of my skincare routine. The Serum feels like honey but more absorbing. It is intensely moisturizing and what a serum should be like. The cream is like butter and your skin feels just as buttery once applied.

For dry skins I highly recommend both these products. It is not super oily, it actually does a good job of nourishing your skin. Hence the ‘repair concentrate’. For oilier skins I recommend the Serum as a last step, skipping the cream should be okay since its pretty intense. But I needed intense and I found intense so I am intensely happy with these products!!!

Another lovely item I have tried is the Su:m 37 Miracle Rose Cleansing Stick1484716_637723979632833_2105488497_n-1
I swear by this rose stick, it is brilliant for sensitive skin. It does a lovely job of cleansing in a delicate way. It smells like heaven. Not only that it is very gentle on your skin. I think cleansing foams were stripping my face dry. I highly recommend this cleanser for all types of skin. Cleansing should not be so harsh of a step to begin with. And of course there is all the jargin about ph, which I’m not too familiar with but I believe this one is said to have a balanced ph.

Kombucha:
Allow me to interject another fermented product in here. Kombucha. I have a friend who works for Health Ade Kombucha and I was lucky enough to try some samples. For the unfamiliar, Kombucha is fermented tea. It has probiotics, is fizzy and is really good for you. It has all these health benefits of improving your gut and liver health, digestion, mood enhancement, immunity building, has vitamin B etc.

Health-Ade-Kombucha
I started drinking this stuff like 1/4 of the bottle everyday. Recommended was 1/2 bottle but I wanted to take it slow. The skincare fanatic in me wondered what would happen if you put it on your face!!! A little research revealed it is not unheard of! You can even make a hair rinse with the stuff. So I decided to use it as I used to use my IOPE Bio Essence. I would soak a cotton pad and wipe my face with it before I applied any skincare. It has been two weeks so far and I believe it has shown me similar results. It does smell a little when you put it on but hey, I got used to it pretty quickly and don’t mind it at all now.

Komenuka Bijin:
The komenuka bijin essence is beautiful. It is so light and lovely on your skin. I started seeing results right away. It has sake and yeast which are fermented ingredients. I am not linking this essence because Amazon is selling it at a ridiculously low price which I am slightly weary of. It fares for around $60 and is $90 on their website. So if you get it for close to $50ish it is a good deal but if it is $25 I would not trust the product.

ko-300

Something to note about fermented products in general is that they may not work for everyone. It certainly works well on my skin. The first time I used the Su:m37 products my skin did need to adjust to it a little and it took about two days so four uses of the products. My skin looked great and felt plump as soon as I started using it but those first two days I did see one or two little bumps on my face. They weren’t really serious. It looked like it was just on the surface level and went away after I washed and moisturized my face. They didn’t appear again. Hence, the term ‘adjustment’. And now it works as it should.

Do you use any fermented products in your regime? I’d love to hear about it. Do share!

2 thoughts on “New Love – Fermented skincare

  1. Tiff says:

    I love Kombucha! Pricy but I try and drink it every chance I get. Also–I’ve tried the Innisfree soybean line and I liked a lot of what I tried. I didn’t try the essence, but I highly recommend the lotion. Also I’m so jealous that you got to try a full line of su:m37! One day…!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. RainCloud says:

    Kombucha is amazing! If you think in terms of skincare money it’s pretty cheap. I was okay with the Innisfree skincare, I think I need stronger skincare for my dry skin. Su:m37 is awesome, out of everything I tried I continue to use the programming essence, I tried replacing it with the Missha first treatment essence after the rave reviews but it nowhere nearly compares with the Su:m37 essence. :)
    PS: sorry for the late reply, I was on sort of a blogging hiatus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

