Skin Foods for Me, Myself and I

You are what you eat! Your skin is what you eat as well.

I’ll list a few things that I eat and find it helps my skin. I have a lot of allergies and can’t eat a lot of foods I know are good for skin like citrus fruits and all these other wonderful nutrient rich foods. This list is not the bible for good skin – I am sure that there are a lot more foods out there that help skin.

1. Water and Barley Tea

Barley tea

I try to drink a lot of water so my skin doesn’t dry out. I get dehydrated often living in Southern CA. The summers get very dry. Sometimes water isn’t enough so I drink Barley Tea. I buy the Ito En Barley Tea Bags from Marukai (Japanese grocery store) and make batches of iced tea with it almost daily in spring and summer months. It does wonders for hydration and gets those dehydrated headaches a quick goodbye. I prefer the Japanese Barley tea (Mugi cha) over the Korean one, but that is just personal preference. The Korean one turns out to be light brown like apple juice color and the Japanese Mugi cha is a much darker beverage. But they are both good for your skin!


2. Raw Vegetables & Fruits

Composition of Mixed Fruit on Plate

Mixed Salad greens always help my skin feel brighter. I love what it does to my skin and I try to incorporate it in my meals. Raw Vegetables and Fruits in general does great things to your skin. Some of my favorites are apples, celery, pears, avocados, papaya, watermelon and carrots. There is a lot more in this spectrum of course but I don’t digest all the raw foods too well except these and I’m allergic to most fruits. I hear juicing is great too, but I enjoy the fibers in the vegetables and fruits. It helps digestion and I believe that in turn helps your skin as well. I enjoy celery sticks with nut butters. It’s a great snack! I buy my vegetables and fruits from the Fullerton Farmers Market or H-Mart – a Korean grocery store. The fruits obviously give an abundance of hydration and you get the full benefit of vitamins rather than cooking them.


3. Nut butters

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 8.51.00 PMScreen Shot 2015-05-04 at 8.52.07 PM

My all time favorite is cashew butter. Second is almond butter. I’ve dabbled into making nut butters at home as well but it does a number on my blender so I stopped trying and just spend the money on all natural nut butters. I like to buy the nut butters that don’t have any added palm oil in them or salt and sugar. So its just nuts. Its delicious and gorgeous! I usually eat them with apple slices, celery or kosher crackers.


5. Supplements: Vitamin B complex, Fish oil

I went through a time when my skin was peeling and felt fatigued easily. I was recommended to take Vitamin B Complex. I chose the Garden of Life Vitamin Code B-Complex, as it is made with actual fruits and vegetables and is all natural instead of those usual chalky vitamins. I take this supplement everyday as it helps my skin and health overall. Some sources of Vitamin B I try to include in my diet are eggs, sweet potato (the white one with the red skin), leafy greens etc.
Fish oil is something I also take everyday. It helps your skin and health overall with the omega 3 and 6 fatty acids. I like to buy Nordic Naturals Complete Omega It comes in a thin gel capsule and has a lemon taste incase you detest the taste of fish oil. It is really easy to go wrong with buying Fish oil tablets. So its good to stick to brands that has pure fish oil and no additive oils in it.

In addition to these products, I like to drink white and green tea. The antioxidants in teas are great for your body. Just imagine if merely eating these things throughout your day can show a significant and visible difference in your skin, just how wondrous things it must be doing inside as well!
What foods do you like to eat to keep your skin healthy?

*all photos used are stock photography or from product websites.

Leave a Reply

