Masked

They come in green, brown, white or even red and black. Nowadays they even have ones with hello kitty or kabuki mask faces on them. A face to put on your face! They might scare the younger ones but do wonders for your skin!

As most of you know, face masks or sometimes known as face packs are a great way to upkeep skin. When you are tired, stressed, didn’t get your usual beauty sleep and your skin just does not feel like co-operating with your usual skin care routine, masks save the day with that little extra something. I want to share a few masks from brands I trust that I like to keep in my skin care shelf.

Troubled Skin/Pore Cleaners
Tea Tree Face Mask from Body Shop
Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask from Innisfree
Skin Clarifying Mask from Sulwhasoo

The moisture givers
The Gold 24 Essential Mask & Ampoule Set from Leaders Insolution
Water Sleeping Pack_Ex from Laneige
Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Sleeping Mask from Missha
Overnight Vitalizing Mask from Sulwhasoo
Some general affordable Sheet Masks in the $1-$3 range – Innisfree, Leaders Insolution, Cel Derma Hydro gel Masks

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 10.24.52 PM

The Tea tree mask is something I usually use when I feel like I’m starting to break out. This isn’t my main skin concern, it is more dry skin, so I tend to reach for the hydrating masks more often. However, the Tea Tree Mask from Body Shop is wonderful and does good things to your face by helping any acne problems you may have. It helps control sebum levels and calms the pimples or blemishes if any. It also makes my skin feel smooth after washing off.  It comes in a jar and you apply it over your face in a decent layer. Let it dry for about 15 mins then wash it off. The only thing I don’t like about it, is it is sometimes a pain to get it all off of your face and it sticks to your sink quite annoyingly. But I use this rarely so I deal with it. All in all a good product. It is only $16.50 and lasts quite a while for me but would of course depend on your usage. I use it maybe once a month.

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 10.22.59 PM

Innisfree Volcanic Pore Clay Mask is a great affordable clay mask made with clay from volcanos of Jeju island. At only $15 for 100 ml, It helps for a good deep cleansing effect and claims to remove sebum  and exfoliate as well as reduce pore size. This a new product for me, so I can’t claim long term benefits but so far it looks like it does the job and I’ve read glowing reviews about this product. They sell it in a set with a face wash and toner also if you want to try some of the other products in the same line. Innisfree is a great Korean brand that carries a lot of natural affordable skincare products. It’s one of the better affordable skin care companies.

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 10.16.06 AM

Sulwhasoo Clarifying Mask is one of the higher end masks, although not too pricey at $41. I have tried a sample of this and its on my to buy lists. It looks like honey in consistency and color. Although not as sticky. You put it over your face and peel it off after it dries. It takes your clogged pores with it when you peel it off however it is not abrasive at all. If leaves your skin feeling very smooth and soft. As expected of one of the best skin care brands out there. Can’t really go wrong with Sulwhasoo!

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 10.38.19 PM laneige (1) Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 10.35.13 PM

The sleeping masks! I will pair these two up because they are two great sleeping masks. You apply these after your skincare routine as the last step and in the morning you simply wash off with warm water – no face wash the morning after a sleeping mask. These are both Korean products. The Laneige Water Sleeping Pack_Ex or also known as the Laneige Water Sleeping Mask is easily available and very popular. The Missha Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Sleeping Mask, is one I have not seen as much. I was recommended the Snail Cream in the same line by a fellow blogger so I decided to try the mask as well. Let me tell you I have not been disappointed with either!

I have been using the Laneige Water Sleeping Mask for a few years now and I swear by it. Slather it on before sleeping and after all the other skincare and wake up with beautiful skin! It helps repair and hydrate your skin overnight. It makes your skin simply plump and happy when you wake up in the morning. For $22-$25 a decent sized jar, this is not a bad deal. I believe this is great for any skin type as its main aim is hydration. Hydration does wonders for your skin and helps give a youthful appearance. Water Water Water!

The Missha Super Aqua Cell Renew Sleeping Mask is AWESOME! It is great for repairing your skin. If you are like me and pick at your pores and are left with scars (not recommended) – this is your product. If you have acne scars, it also helps repair those hyper pigmentation marks. It doesn’t have as much snail slime (15%) as the cream (70%), but still is a great product. I will talk about the cream in another post. I love them both and highly recommend for skin that is dry and damaged and needs an overnight pick up. The mask absorbs fairly quickly and is slightly tingly at first but well worth the tingle. Apply generously! For oily skin, I would recommend using this after toner and not after your whole routine. For dry and combination – use after your skin care routine for best results. It is $23 at the Missha US website. I bought it at a Korean skin care store in K-town in LA for $22.

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 10.17.42 AM

Sulwhasoo Overnight Vitalizing Mask might be one of my favorites among the sleeping masks. It really does a great job in nourishing your skin while you sleep. It is one of the higher end ones at $52 but a great one to have. It hydrates, repairs and makes your skin all kind of wonderful. This product does not need an in depth review. If you can afford the $52 and need a good sleeping mask – don’t think twice! And as I said can’t really go wrong with Sulwhasoo!

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 10.26.12 PM

The Leaders Insolution The Gold 24 was a fun mask for me. I had never used a gold mask before and found it to provide really good hydration. It is a two step mask. It comes with a syringe type thing with a gel for the first step. This is the one that has gold flakes in it. You apply that over your face and then comes the sheet mask. The sheet mask is sandwiched between layers of what looks like two other sheet mask. I usually remove one of them, put the mask on my face then peel off the other covering. It is a very thin hydrogel mask and it really works well in my opinion. It is one of the higher end Leaders Insolution Masks. I’ve been using it atleast twice a week lately and I wake up with plump skin. I need deep hydration and this is great for it. I bought this mask on the imomoko website. I haven’t seen this mask around too much. On imomoko it ranges from $15 for the box to $50 depending on if its on sale or not. Currently it is on there for $19. When it was $15, I stocked up with four boxes of these. I know. But I love it so!

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 10.33.18 AM

Now let’s talk about the $1-$3 sheet masks. They are a great thing to add to your skin care routine if you need an extra boost of hydration or you want to look better at an event or in pictures. Slap it on and in 20 mins you will have plump skin. The effects of these are not necessarily long lasting considering the price, but regular use does help a lot in relieving your dry skin. If you are like me and need an instant boost if your skin looks like crap from being so dehydrated in sunny and dry Southern California, these are great to use. I also save the solution in the sheet mask packets and slather it on as a serum during my skin care routine. You can use these everyday if your heart desires!

A few great brands to stock up on is Innisfree, Face Shop, Aritaum, Cel-Derma and Leaders Insolution. Innisfree, Aritaum and Face Shop have a great selection of masks in green tea, bamboo, rose, collagen, hyaluronic acid and all these smells and flavors. Cel-Derma was one of the first hydrogel masks and I used to use them religiously for a while until all these other brands started to make hydrogel masks. Leaders Insolution has a great variety of masks based on concerns like wrinkle filler masks, collagen masks etc.

I buy Leaders Insolution at imomoko, Innisfree on the Innisfree world website, Face Shop masks I buy from the face shop store in Buena Park, Aritaum at the Aritaum/Amore Pacific counter and Cel-Derma I bought a few times on eBay. I am not too impressed with the face shop masks so I don’t get them often. Cel-Derma masks are not as easy to find but will be present at a korean skin care store. They are easy to find on eBay. I don’t usually buy creams and serums on eBay since there is a lot of talk of fake products, but masks can’t really go wrong since they are a one time use thing and sealed.

This was a longer post than expected! But probably well required if talking about skin care. There are tons of masks out there that are good and probably even better than what I suggested. But these are what I am familiar with. What masks do you like to use?

*All photos used are from product websites.

One thought on “Masked

Leave a Reply

